Partnership agreement

The European Commission has adopted the French Partnership agreement!

On 08 August 2014, the European Commission adopted the French partnership agreement which validates the scope of the 2014-2020 programming of European structural and investment funds (ESIF): the European regional development fund (ERDF), the European social fund (ESF), the European agricultural fund for rural development (EAFRD) and the European maritime and fisheries funds (EMFF).

The ESIF's interventions must address three major issues:

  • employment and economic competitiveness;
  • energy and ecological transition and the sustainable management of resources;
  • equal opportunities between territories.


The European Union's support, which amounts to approximately €26.7 billion for 7 years, will essentially focus on:

  • The competitiveness of small and medium-sized companies and innovation;
  • Youth employment and personalised progress on the labour market;
  • Social inclusion to reduce poverty;
  • The transition to a low-carbon economy;
  • The protection and preservation of the environment and heritage.

This document, produced in close collaboration between the State and the regions, is the result of one year's concerted action with the national partnership (350 organisations representing the civil society, economic agents, social partners, local authorities and the State). It has been the subject of extensive negotiations with the European Commission.

The adoption of the Partnership agreement signals the launch of the 2014-2020 programming of European funds. The programmes may therefore be adopted by the European Commission within the next few weeks.